User: Password:
|
|
Subscribe / Log in / New account

man-pages-3.65 is released

From:  "Michael Kerrisk (man-pages)" <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
To:  lkml <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject:  man-pages-3.65 is released
Date:  Sun, 20 Apr 2014 20:48:31 +0200
Message-ID:  <5354167F.6090401@gmail.com>
Cc:  mtk.manpages@gmail.com
Archive-link:  Article

Gidday,

The Linux man-pages maintainer proudly announces:

    man-pages-3.65 - man pages for Linux

Tarball download:
    http://www.kernel.org/doc/man-pages/download.html
Git repository:
    https://git.kernel.org/cgit/docs/man-pages/man-pages.git/
Online changelog:
    http://man7.org/linux/man-pages/changelog.html#release_3.65

A short summary of the release is blogged at:
http://linux-man-pages.blogspot.com/2014/04/man-pages-365...

The current version of the pages is browsable at:
http://man7.org/linux/man-pages/

A few changes in this release that may be of interest to readers of
this list are given below.

Cheers,

Michael

==================== Changes in man-pages-3.65 ====================

Released: 2014-04-20, Munich


Contributors
------------

The following people contributed patches/fixes or (noted in brackets
in the changelog below) reports, notes, and ideas that have been
incorporated in changes in this release:

Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com>
Ashish Sangwan <a.sangwan@samsung.com>
Christopher Covington <cov@codeaurora.org>
Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Craig McQueen <craig.mcqueen@beamcommunications.com>
Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
David Prévot <taffit@debian.org>
Greg Troxel <gdt@ir.bbn.com>
Matthew Dempsky <mdempsky@chromium.org>
Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
Namjae Jeon <namjae.jeon@samsung.com>
Peng Haitao <penght@cn.fujitsu.com>
Petr Gajdos <pgajdos@suse.cz>
Richard Hansen <rhansen@bbn.com>
Simon Paillard <spaillard@debian.org>
Steven Stewart-Gallus <sstewartgallus00@mylangara.bc.ca>
Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Yuri Kozlov <yuray@komyakino.ru>

Apologies if I missed anyone!


New and rewritten pages
-----------------------

inet_net_pton.3
    Michael Kerrisk
        New page describing inet_net_pton(3) and inet_net_ntop(3)


Newly documented interfaces in existing pages
---------------------------------------------

fallocate.2
    Michael Kerrisk, Namjae Jeon [Christoph Hellwig, Dave Chinner]
        Document FALLOC_FL_COLLAPSE_RANGE

prctl.2
    Michael Kerrisk  [Alex Thorlton]
        Document PR_SET_THP_DISABLE and PR_GET_THP_DISABLE

proc.5
    Michael Kerrisk
        Document /proc/[pid]/stack
    Michael Kerrisk
        Document /proc/[pid]/clear_refs


Changes to individual pages
---------------------------

fcntl.2
    Michael Kerrisk
        Note the race when O_CLOEXEC is used at same time as fork()+execve()

open.2
    Michael Kerrisk
        Add more detail on the race that O_CLOEXEC is designed to avoid


proc.5
    Petr Gajdos
        Improve /proc/[pid]/smaps entries description


-- 
Michael Kerrisk
Linux man-pages maintainer; http://www.kernel.org/doc/man-pages/
Linux/UNIX System Programming Training: http://man7.org/training/
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/


Copyright © 2014, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds