User: Password:
|
|
Subscribe / Log in / New account

Add Broadcom Kona PWM Support

From:  Tim Kryger <tim.kryger@linaro.org>
To:  Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@linaro.org>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>, Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>, Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk>, Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org>, "Randy Dunlap" <rdunlap@infradead.org>, Christian Daudt <bcm@fixthebug.org>, "Grant Likely" <grant.likely@linaro.org>
Subject:  [PATCH v6 0/5] Add Broadcom Kona PWM Support
Date:  Fri, 18 Apr 2014 09:44:49 -0700
Message-ID:  <1397839494-21049-1-git-send-email-tim.kryger@linaro.org>
Cc:  Tim Kryger <tim.kryger@linaro.org>, Linux PWM List <linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org>, Device Tree List <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>, Linux Doc List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>, Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Broadcom Kernel Feedback List <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com>, Linux ARM Kernel List <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>
Archive-link:  Article

This series introduces the driver for the Kona PWM controller found in
Broadcom mobile SoCs like bcm281xx and updates the device tree and the
defconfig to enable use of this hardware on the bcm28155 AP board.

Changes since v5:
  - Rebased on v3.15-rc1

Changes since v4:
  - Added in real polarity support
  - Labeled trigger bits as such rather than use the name from hw docs
  - Listed unsual hardware characteristics at the top of the file
  - Removed default from Kconfig and update defconfig accordingly
  - Always use unsigned int for temporary register values

Changes since v3:
  - Removed polarity support for now
  - Cleaned up whitespace issues, shortened some variable names
  - Use container_of instead of dev_get_drvdata to get private data
  - Removed workaround for PWM framework bug
  - Reworded some binding documentation

Changes since v2:
  - SoC DTS file updated to use real clock's phandle + specifier
  - Toggle smooth mode off during apply so new settings take immediately

Changes since v1:
  - Fixed up macros to be clearer and more complete
  - Corrected spelling and punctuation mistakes
  - Added support for polarity
  - Made peripheral clock use more efficient
  - Made prescale and duty computation clearer
  - Moved Makefile addition to keep alphabetical
  - Split complex lines into multiple steps


Tim Kryger (5):
  Documentation: dt: Add Kona PWM binding
  pwm: kona: Introduce Kona PWM controller support
  ARM: dts: Declare the PWM for bcm11351 (bcm281xx)
  ARM: dts: Enable the PWM for bcm28155 AP board
  ARM: bcm_defconfig: Enable PWM and Backlight

 .../devicetree/bindings/pwm/bcm-kona-pwm.txt       |   21 ++
 arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm11351.dtsi                    |    8 +
 arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm28155-ap.dts                  |    4 +
 arch/arm/configs/bcm_defconfig                     |    3 +
 drivers/pwm/Kconfig                                |    9 +
 drivers/pwm/Makefile                               |    1 +
 drivers/pwm/pwm-bcm-kona.c                         |  319 ++++++++++++++++++++
 7 files changed, 365 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pwm/bcm-kona-pwm.txt
 create mode 100644 drivers/pwm/pwm-bcm-kona.c

-- 
1.7.9.5

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/


Copyright © 2014, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds