User: Password:
|
|
Subscribe / Log in / New account

af_unix: add multicast and filtering features to AF_UNIX

From:  Javier Martinez Canillas <javier@collabora.co.uk>
To:  "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject:  [PATCH 0/10] af_unix: add multicast and filtering features to AF_UNIX
Date:  Mon, 20 Feb 2012 16:57:25 +0100
Message-ID:  <1329753455-1106-1-git-send-email-javier@collabora.co.uk>
Cc:  Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>, Lennart Poettering <lennart@poettering.net>, Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>, Alban Crequy <alban.crequy@collabora.co.uk>, Bart Cerneels <bart.cerneels@collabora.co.uk>, Rodrigo Moya <rodrigo.moya@collabora.co.uk>, Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd.simons@collabora.co.uk>, netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Archive-link:  Article

This patch-set add multicast support to Unix domain socket familiy for datagram
and seqpacket sockets. This work was made by Alban Crequy as a result of a
research we have been doing to improve the performance of the D-bus IPC system.

The first approach was to create a new AF_DBUS socket address family and
move the routing logic of the D-bus daemon to the kernel. The motivations behind
that approach and the thread of the patches post can be found in [1] and [2].

The feedback was that having D-bus specific code in the kernel is a bad
idea so the second approach was to implement multicast Unix domain sockets so
clients can directly send messages to peers bypassing the D-bus daemon.
A previous version of the patches was already posted by Alban [3] who also has
a good explanation of the implementation on his blog [4].

[1]http://alban-apinc.blogspot.com/2011/12/d-bus-in-kernel-f...
[2]http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1040481
[3]http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.network/178772
[4]http://alban-apinc.blogspot.com/2011/12/introducing-multi...

The patch-set is composed of the following patches:

[PATCH 01/10] af_unix: Documentation on multicast unix sockets
[PATCH 02/10] af_unix: Add constant for unix socket options level
[PATCH 03/10] af_unix: add setsockopt on unix sockets
[PATCH 04/10] af_unix: create, join and leave multicast groups with setsockopt
[PATCH 05/10] af_unix: find the recipients of a multicast group
[PATCH 06/10] af_unix: Deliver message to several recipients in case of multicast
[PATCH 07/10] af_unix: implement poll(POLLOUT) for multicast sockets
[PATCH 08/10] af_unix: Unsubscribe sockets from their multicast groups on RCV_SHUTDOWN
[PATCH 09/10] Allow server side of SOCK_SEQPACKET sockets to accept a new member
[PATCH 10/10] af_unix: Add a peer BPF for multicast Unix sockets
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/


Copyright © 2012, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds