User: Password:
|
|
Subscribe / Log in / New account

mm: Preemptibility -v8

From:  Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
To:  Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>, Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, akpm@linux-foundation.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Subject:  [PATCH 0/8] mm: Preemptibility -v8
Date:  Thu, 17 Feb 2011 18:05:20 +0100
Message-ID:  <20110217170520.229881980@chello.nl>
Cc:  linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>, Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>, Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>, Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>, Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, Yanmin Zhang <yanmin_zhang@linux.intel.com>
Archive-link:  Article

This series depends on the previous two series:
  - mm: Simplify anon_vma lifetime rules
  - mm: mmu_gather rework

These patches make part of the mm a lot more preemptible. It converts
i_mmap_lock and anon_vma->lock to mutexes which together with the mmu_gather
rework makes mmu_gather preemptible as well.

Making i_mmap_lock a mutex also enables a clean-up of the truncate code.

This also allows for preemptible mmu_notifiers, something that XPMEM I think
wants.



--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/


Copyright © 2011, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds