User: Password:
|
|
Subscribe / Log in / New account

Re: [PATCH V3 0/8] Cleancache: overview

From:  Christoph Hellwig <hch-AT-infradead.org>
To:  Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer-AT-oracle.com>
Subject:  Re: [PATCH V3 0/8] Cleancache: overview
Date:  Fri, 23 Jul 2010 10:04:40 -0400
Message-ID:  <20100723140440.GA12423@infradead.org>
Cc:  ngupta-AT-vflare.org, Christoph Hellwig <hch-AT-infradead.org>, akpm-AT-linux-foundation.org, Chris Mason <chris.mason-AT-oracle.com>, viro-AT-zeniv.linux.org.uk, adilger-AT-sun.com, tytso-AT-mit.edu, mfasheh-AT-suse.com, Joel Becker <joel.becker-AT-oracle.com>, matthew-AT-wil.cx, linux-btrfs-AT-vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel-AT-vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel-AT-vger.kernel.org, linux-ext4-AT-vger.kernel.org, ocfs2-devel-AT-oss.oracle.com, linux-mm-AT-kvack.org, jeremy-AT-goop.org, JBeulich-AT-novell.com, Kurt Hackel <kurt.hackel-AT-oracle.com>, npiggin-AT-suse.de, Dave Mccracken <dave.mccracken-AT-oracle.com>, riel-AT-redhat.com, avi-AT-redhat.com, Konrad Wilk <konrad.wilk-AT-oracle.com>
Archive-link:  Article

On Fri, Jul 23, 2010 at 06:58:03AM -0700, Dan Magenheimer wrote:
> CHRISTOPH AND ANDREW, if you disagree and your concerns have
> not been resolved, please speak up.

Anything that need modification of a normal non-shared fs is utterly
broken and you'll get a clear NAK, so the propsal before is a good
one.  There's a couple more issues like the still weird prototypes,
e.g. and i_ino might not be enoug to uniquely identify an inode
on serveral filesystems that use 64-bit inode inode numbers on 32-bit
systems.  Also making the ops vector global is just a bad idea.
There is nothing making this sort of caching inherently global.

--
To unsubscribe, send a message with 'unsubscribe linux-mm' in
the body to majordomo@kvack.org.  For more info on Linux MM,
see: http://www.linux-mm.org/ .
Don't email: <a href=mailto:"dont@kvack.org"> email@kvack.org </a>



(Log in to post comments)


Copyright © 2010, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds