User: Password:
|
|
Subscribe / Log in / New account

Re: OpenBSD bcw: Possible GPL license violation issues

From:  Theo de Raadt <deraadt-VON6Tr2NNtkmbxgs1yVkuA-AT-public.gmane.org>
To:  Michael Buesch <mb-fseUSCV1ubazQB+pC5nmwQ-AT-public.gmane.org>
Subject:  Re: OpenBSD bcw: Possible GPL license violation issues
Date:  Thu, 05 Apr 2007 12:48:53 -0600
Cc:  Joseph Jezak <josejx-aBrp7R+bbdUdnm+yROfE0A-AT-public.gmane.org>, Stefano Brivio <stefano.brivio-hl5o88x/ua9eoWH0uzbU5w-AT-public.gmane.org>, Marcus Glocker <mglocker-7YlrpqBBQ3VAfugRpC6u6w-AT-public.gmane.org>, Jon Simola <jsimola-Re5JQEeQqe8AvxtiuMwx3w-AT-public.gmane.org>, Theo de Raadt <deraadt-T7FYYhErWq4AvxtiuMwx3w-AT-public.gmane.org>, Martin Langer <martin-langer-Mmb7MZpHnFY-AT-public.gmane.org>, Danny van Dyk <kugelfang-aBrp7R+bbdUdnm+yROfE0A-AT-public.gmane.org>, Andreas Jaggi <andreas.jaggi-xegAWGFB9mQXXHkOk0aIfQ-AT-public.gmane.org>, Larry Finger <larry.finger-tQ5ms3gMjBLk1uMJSBkQmQ-AT-public.gmane.org>, Quaker.Fang-xsfywfwIY+M-AT-public.gmane.org, Johannes Berg <johannes-cdvu00un1VgdHxzADdlk8Q-AT-public.gmane.org>, John Linville <linville-2XuSBdqkA4R54TAoqtyWWQ-AT-public.gmane.org>, Greg kh <greg-U8xfFu+wG4EAvxtiuMwx3w-AT-public.gmane.org>, bcm43xx-dev-0fE9KPoRgkgATYTw5x5z8w-AT-public.gmane.org, linux-wireless-u79uwXL29TY76Z2rM5mHXA-AT-public.gmane.org, license-violation-1yPg2kKgK35oVitdyIjqkB2eb7JE58TQ-AT-public.gmane.org
Archive-link:  Article, Thread

> On Thursday 05 April 2007 20:32, Theo de Raadt wrote:
> > Or are you now going to say that all the functions he
> > is using are OK to use?
> 
> No!
> I decide this on a case-by-case base as you OpenBSD guys contact
> me and ask "Is it OK to you to use this particular fraction of code...".
> I wrote that in the very first mail.

He did NOT mail you, because he did not know he had made a mistake.

Again, you are assuming he did not make a mistake, and you are thus
calling him a thief.

> > No, you wanted him to come begging,
> 
> I want you to respect my copyright. Fullstop.

No, your message offered that he can come begging, because that is the
best that thieves may do.

Come little dog, come beg for forgiveness.

You are a very poor example of humankind.



(Log in to post comments)


Copyright © 2007, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds