LWN.net Logo

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

LWN reader Geert Jan van Oldenborgh recently encountered TryOutLinux.com by way of a Google ad. This site, which looks like a another Linux information site, has no affiliation listed on it; it claims copyright in the name of TryOutLinux.com. The ad leads to the "Which Linux is Best?" page, which concludes: "We Recommend LindowsOS for Most Desktop Users and Red Hat or SuSE for File Servers" (caps in the original). So it, perhaps, won't be surprising that the whois information for TryOutLinux.com lists Lindows.com as the registrant.

Lindows is welcome to put up its advertising materials, even if it does give itself five stars under "active user community" and only two for Red Hat. But presenting the site as an independent entity seems just a little bit dishonest. It might be better if Lindows.com were to put its name on the site and take responsibility for its words.


(Log in to post comments)

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 16:50 UTC (Wed) by tjc (subscriber, #137) [Link]

Lindows is welcome to put up its advertising materials, even if it does give itself five stars under "active user community" and only two for Red Hat.

It's also worth noting that they excel in the areas of ease of use, ease of installing new software, ease of installing of the OS, technical support from the vendor, menu organization, consistent functionality, wide hardware support, and stability.

Pretty much everything, except modesty and honesty.

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 16:58 UTC (Wed) by havoc (guest, #2261) [Link]

well, "modesty" is not a good thing in marketing. "Honesty" is only marginally relivant to marketing...

:-D

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 17:16 UTC (Wed) by zonker (subscriber, #7867) [Link]

I'm not sure if this were just added, but this is at the bottom of the main page, and most of the pages I looked at:

"TryOutLinux.com is sponsored by Lindows.com."

It's not exactly screaming the information, but it isn't hidden, either.

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 18:08 UTC (Wed) by jeroen (subscriber, #12372) [Link]

"sponsored by Lindows.com" is at the bottom of the site since archive.org first archived the site almost 2 years ago.

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 22:01 UTC (Wed) by gjvo (guest, #951) [Link]

Sorry, I missed that; I started reading at the top. Indeed, about 2 meters down,
in small type, does it say this. Not quite stuck in a locked filing cabinet in a
disused toilet with the lights gone (and the stairs too, if I remember correctly)
and a sign on the door 'beware of the leopard', but close...

Geert Jan (more used to dutch-style advertising)

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 22:15 UTC (Wed) by zonker (subscriber, #7867) [Link]

The copyright notice certainly wasn't calling a great deal of attention to itself, was it? As long as they have that, I suppose it's above-board, although I do think it's a fairly unpleasant practice to "sponsor" such a one-sided site.

It's sad that PR people can't wrap their brains around the concept of honest advertising that simply says something like "hey, we've got what we think is a really great [insert product] and we'd like you to try it. Here's what it does, this is what it costs and you can get it over there."

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 22:26 UTC (Wed) by tjc (subscriber, #137) [Link]

The copyright notice certainly wasn't calling a great deal of attention to itself, was it?






no it wasn't

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 22:31 UTC (Wed) by zonker (subscriber, #7867) [Link]

Heh. Now that's funny.

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 17:25 UTC (Wed) by alex (subscriber, #1355) [Link]

I'm not exactly a Lindows cheerleader (Mandrake/Debian person myself) but the site seems like usual marketing fare. The bottom of the page states: "TryOutLinux.com is sponsored by Lindows.com." Which lets you know where they are comming from. They also give space to push other distros with plenty of links. Of course you can no longer vote on the poll and I'm sure various people will complain about some of the editorial commentry on their favorite distro. However I have seen far more deceptive practices in terms of online advertising.

Stability

Posted Mar 31, 2004 17:29 UTC (Wed) by tomansley (guest, #11682) [Link]

What is even more interesting is that they have Windows being more stable than Sun, Redhat and Suse. Hmmm.

You have to question what is going on here.

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 17:38 UTC (Wed) by manuel.flury (guest, #7880) [Link]

I agree that they should put their name on the website but this is still
a good initiative and they make ad for the other distribs for free.

Linux promotion should be deduced from taxes :-)

Promote Linux?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 18:53 UTC (Wed) by tzafrir (subscriber, #11501) [Link]

Now let's see:

Under "stability: bug free" Mandrake, lindows and windows get 4, RH and SuSE get 3 and Sun gets 2. Funny, isn't it?

Costs: $89.00 $69.00 $39.95 $99 $100/yr $199

You figure the order. Hint: Two of those should be zero. One of those should have an extra /yr . At least as far as home users are concerened.

But if they mention the edition of Mandrake that costs 69$, they should mention that it has Flash, Java and RealPlayer.

In other words: the site does not promote linux a bit. It merely smears competitors.

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 17:57 UTC (Wed) by jamesm (guest, #2273) [Link]

Damn, looks like their favourite distro poll has EXPIRED!

I wonder what distro won... wait, don't tell me, is it... Lindows?


Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 20:13 UTC (Wed) by maceto (guest, #16498) [Link]

well they use debian as their base, but is debian there, no debian is betetr than lindows...

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 20:17 UTC (Wed) by maceto (guest, #16498) [Link]

http://images.lindows.com/TotalForumPosts.gif and that`s considered a con?

se libranet not to many posts there.. same type of use ( desktop not server) I would say a server distro, with no gui and just hand edit etc, would have more posts in a userforum, cause the difficulties of setting up a server right, se irc.freenode@#debian, not questions about how do I install a kernel doh!

What you say?

Posted Mar 31, 2004 20:53 UTC (Wed) by stuart (subscriber, #623) [Link]

Someone set up us the bomb.

I don't understand any of your comment.
Stu.

Eat your own dog food

Posted Mar 31, 2004 22:16 UTC (Wed) by freemars (subscriber, #4235) [Link]

Netcraft says:

OS, Web Server and Hosting History for tryoutlinux.com
OS:         	NT4/Windows 98
Server:         Microsoft-IIS/4.0
Last changed:   14-May-2002
IP address:     64.45.57.180
Netblock Owner: Net Limited

Eat your own dog food

Posted Apr 1, 2004 4:26 UTC (Thu) by proski (subscriber, #104) [Link]


$ telnet tryoutlinux.com 80
Trying 64.45.57.180...
Connected to tryoutlinux.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
GET foo
HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
Server: Microsoft-IIS/4.0
Date: Thu, 01 Apr 2004 04:50:42 GMT
Content-Type: text/html
Content-Length: 87

Who is TryOutLinux.com?

Posted Apr 1, 2004 15:56 UTC (Thu) by kitterma (subscriber, #4448) [Link]

I noticed today that one of the Google ads on lwn.net was for TryOutLinux.com

Copyright © 2004, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds