But then you are depending on your hardware to have correct functionality.
Which is a very very unsafe assumption.
Anyways, I believe TRIM just tells them that the blocks are no longer being used. It's not a order to zero out the blocks. Without trim the SSD doesn't know if the file system still expects them to be used or not.