LWN.net Logo

addlebrain.com

addlebrain.com

Posted Oct 26, 2004 2:54 UTC (Tue) by jeld (guest, #22397)
In reply to: addlebrain.com by jtc
Parent article: Fake Red Hat security update

Well... looks like you are right, except, that addlebrain.com (running IIS 6) is being redirected to www.addlebrain.com running apache. Since this is a valid site, and the email address where the script is sending cracked host info is root@addlebrain.com I figured that someone rooted one of addlebrain's boxes. Otherwise I don't know. addlebrain.com seems to belong to a company called ABM Wireless which sells cell phone accessories. MX record for addlebrain.com points to a server on everyone.net domain which is a mail hosting company. I cannot find much info about addlebrain.com IP address, but www.addlebrain.com address belongs to a dedicated web server/colocation company ThePlanet.com.


(Log in to post comments)

Copyright © 2012, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds