LWN.net Logo

The script is SOOOOOO silly

The script is SOOOOOO silly

Posted Oct 25, 2004 14:35 UTC (Mon) by jeld (guest, #22397)
Parent article: Fake Red Hat security update

These guys have no imagination. So, did anyone notify addlebrain.com that one of their boxen was rooted?


(Log in to post comments)

The script is SOOOOOO silly

Posted Oct 25, 2004 14:44 UTC (Mon) by pascal.martin (guest, #2995) [Link]

http://addlebrain.com was running Microsoft-IIS on Windows Server 2003 when last queried (Netcraft).

Not a root kit & no comment..

The script is SOOOOOO silly

Posted Oct 25, 2004 15:06 UTC (Mon) by jeld (guest, #22397) [Link]

Obviously it is not running IIS anymore, it runs some sort of apache. Here is the transcript:

HEAD / HTTP/1.0

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Mon, 25 Oct 2004 15:04:21 GMT
Server: Apache
Last-Modified: Mon, 10 May 2004 19:45:39 GMT
ETag: "35802a-373b-40f47ec0"
Accept-Ranges: bytes
Content-Length: 14139
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

addlebrain.com

Posted Oct 26, 2004 1:57 UTC (Tue) by jtc (subscriber, #6246) [Link]

I missed where addlebrain.com fits into this, but I get the following results from HEAD:

$ HEAD addlebrain.com
200 OK
Cache-Control: private
Connection: close
Date: Tue, 26 Oct 2004 01:55:17 GMT
Server: Microsoft-IIS/6.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset=utf-8
Client-Date: Tue, 26 Oct 2004 01:51:12 GMT
Client-Response-Num: 1
Client-Transfer-Encoding: chunked
X-AspNet-Version: 1.1.4322
X-Powered-By: ASP.NET

addlebrain.com

Posted Oct 26, 2004 2:54 UTC (Tue) by jeld (guest, #22397) [Link]

Well... looks like you are right, except, that addlebrain.com (running IIS 6) is being redirected to www.addlebrain.com running apache. Since this is a valid site, and the email address where the script is sending cracked host info is root@addlebrain.com I figured that someone rooted one of addlebrain's boxes. Otherwise I don't know. addlebrain.com seems to belong to a company called ABM Wireless which sells cell phone accessories. MX record for addlebrain.com points to a server on everyone.net domain which is a mail hosting company. I cannot find much info about addlebrain.com IP address, but www.addlebrain.com address belongs to a dedicated web server/colocation company ThePlanet.com.

Copyright © 2012, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds