LWN.net Logo

Advertisement

E-Commerce & credit card processing - the Open Source way!

Advertise here

Fake Red Hat security update

Fake Red Hat security update

Posted Oct 25, 2004 13:53 UTC (Mon) by alex (subscriber, #1355)
Parent article: Fake Red Hat security update

Does the email contain an attachment or is the file hosted on the site? If its hosted on the site surely its an easy task to trace the domain owner and charge them?


(Log in to post comments)

Fake Red Hat security update

Posted Oct 25, 2004 13:55 UTC (Mon) by busterb (subscriber, #560) [Link]

Domain Name.......... fedora-redhat.com
Creation Date........ 2004-10-24
Registration Date.... 2004-10-24
Expiry Date.......... 2005-10-24
Organisation Name.... Raymond Jackson
Organisation Address. 224 Cedar Avenue
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. New York
Organisation Address. 95301
Organisation Address. NY
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Raymond Jackson
Admin Address........ 224 Cedar Avenue
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ New York
Admin Address........ 95301
Admin Address........ NY
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... rayjackson23@yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.2098994533
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax............. +1.6198813010
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

Fake Red Hat security update

Posted Oct 25, 2004 14:38 UTC (Mon) by pascal.martin (subscriber, #2995) [Link]

The ZIP code is for Atwater, CA not New York City, NY (NYC is 01xxx.. is anyone checking addresses at the registrars?). There is a 224 cedar Avenue there, through..

A Raymond Jackson lives there, according to the Yahoo phone book.

I suggest to be polite and not overflow the guy with phone calls: there is no proof he is not a victim as well..

It seems the site was taken down.

Copyright © 2008, Eklektix, Inc.
Comments and public postings are copyrighted by their creators.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds